Search this site

Our most rewarding annual event is choosing a recipient for the $750.00 Cobourg Horticultural Society Scholarship to a deserving local high school graduate with exemplary marks who wishes to pursue post-secondary education in a field related to horticulture or the environment. Applicants should download the following documents:

Scholarship Requirements

Horticultural Scholarship-Application

2017 Winner

2017 Scholarship Winner The Cobourg Horticultural Society has awarded a $750 scholarship to graduate Josephine Lansley of CCI. The scholarship is awarded to students based on academic standing, practical experience and their choice of an advanced program of study related to horticulture or the environment.

Pictured are Suellen Stratton (Secretary), Josephine Langley and Brian Garrison (Chariman of the Committee) awarding the  cheque to Josephine.

Josephine has been accepted at Queen's University and is completing her first year of study at Bader International Study Centre in England.


  2016 Winner

2016 Scholarship Winner

The winner of the 2016 scholarship was graduate Ben van Steijn of CCI.  At left is Brian Garrison, Chariman of the Committee, awarding the cheque to Ben.  

Ben went on to Sir Sanford Flemming College to study Outdoor and Adventure Education. He has volunteered at the Cobourg Ecology Garden and maintains the greens for the Cobourg Lawn Bowling Club.



Previous Scholarship Recipients

Sarah Irving was our scholarship winner in 2015.  Sarah, a graduate of St. Mary's Secondary School, went on to study Environmental Technology at Fleming College. 

In 2014, there were two winners. Alexa Moran (St. Mary’s Catholic Secondary School) intends to study urban and rural planning at the University of Waterloo. Rachel Benschop (Cobourg District Collegiate Institute West) plans to go to the University of Guelph to study agriculture and ultimately plans to become a large-animal veterinarian.

In 2013 Karlene Brown of St. Mary’s Secondary went to study landscaping at Algonquin College in Ottawa. She hopes to own her own greenhouse when she finishes. Karlene worked for the Parks Department in Cobourg for two summers.

In 2012 we awarded two scholarships. One went to Wyatt May of CDCI West who went to Lakehead University to study Environmental Studies and Biology. The other went to Jesse Miedema of CDCI East who went to Kemptville College to study Agriculture so he will be able to run the family farm.

Our scholarship winner for 2010 was Kate Hunter, an outdoor enthusiast whose interest lay in sketching nature. As part of the school’s ECO team at CDCI West and a member of the Cobourg Community Centre Operations committee, she helped to protect our shores during her high school career. Kate continued her studies in Landscape Architecture while attending the University of Guelph.

The 2009 winner of the CHS Scholarship was Amy Reinert of CDCI West. Amy was involved in the recycling programme and creation of a xeroscape garden at her high school. She studied Environmental Science at the University of Guelph.

Travis Greydanus received our $500 scholarship in 2008. Travis, a graduate of St. Mary’s High School, went on to study Agricultural Business at the University of Guelph.

In 2007 we awarded 2 scholarships. Nick Dolomont of St. Mary’s Secondary and Samantha Parker of CDCI East. Nick went on to study Landscaping Design at Fanshaw College in London, Ontario while Samantha attended Niagara College to train as a Horticultural Technician.

In 2006, Alex Reynolds, honours graduate of St. Mary’s Secondary School won the $500 scholarship. He studied Environmental Engineering at the University of Guelph. In 2006 Ashlea Hegedus-Viola received at CHS Scholarship prior to her Environmental & Resources Studies at the University of Waterloo. Ashlea was involved with the educational program at Cobourg’s Ecology Gardens.